Duplicate Security Groups – Problem Article
Summary
This article explains the problem of duplicate security groups created during some upgrades of BACKTRACK and suggests ways to approach and resolve the problems that these duplicates create.
Symptoms
When running BACKTRACK, error messages appear each time the feature involves the User Database. So, for example, if a Check-out is selected, the error appears when BACKTRACK tries to contact the User Database so the BACKTRACK user can select the ‘Check-out User’.
Explanation
Security Groups are setup in the admin part of BACKTRACK to control user access. In migrations from older versions of BACKTRACK (v6 or earlier) we often see duplicate records created for each Security Group in BACKTRACK.
After the upgrade is performed on the old database, the Security Group list has duplicate security groups listed. This will trigger errors every time BT needs to access the User table. Error messages appear for each function of BACKTRACK that requires a reference to the user table. This includes Check-out, Check-in, etc.
Solution
The duplicates need to be removed. Since this duplicate is a duplication of the key field (Security Group name), SQL Management Studio IS NOT an effective way to remove it.
A better approach is to create two new groups (e.g. Administrator1 and Everyone1) and then delete the old groups (e.g. Administrator and Everyone). When the old ones are deleted, this will force BACKTRACK to move all the users assigned to the old Security Group to the new one.
Additional Comments
Author
Related Articles
- Adding Custom Fields to Sigo Suite – Instructions for SigoSuite
- Upgrade SigoSuite PC Application – Sigo Suite Instructions
- TEKLYNX CENTRAL v7 – Product Information and User Guides
- Configure BCScanPrint to Communicate with Server – Breadcrumbs Instructions
- TEKLYNX License Service Could Not Start – Windows Error
- Upgrading Zebra Printer Firmware – Instructions